12339 S. 800 E., Suite 101 Draper, UT, 84020
No. The officer should have given you a notice that indicated that you have 10 days after the arrest to request a hearing. If you do not request a hearing within that period of time, your license will automatically be suspended. There are many things an experienced attorney can do to try to save your license. It is important that you consult with an attorney as soon as possible after you are arrested for DUI to preserve your rights.
No. It is not required that you have an attorney to request or attend the hearing. However, even though you are not required to have an attorney assist you with requesting and attending the hearing, the right to drive is critical and this hearing affects important rights. In order to protect yourself in both the criminal matter and protect your right to drive, you should seek an experienced defense attorney to help you through this process.
Usually not. Conditional licenses are very rare and only available to people whose license has been suspended for over 3 years. If this has occurred to you, you may be able to get a conditional license to drive to and from work or school.
Having an attorney assist you if you are charged with driving on a suspended license could be very important to protect your ability to drive.
Your license is not automatically renewed after your suspension time has expired. You must apply for your license at a driver’s license location and pay a reinstatement fee of $65 as well as an administrative fee of $170. Driver’s license accepts cash, checks, money orders, and credit cards in all offices.
For a listing of Utah Driver’s License Locations click here.
You will also need to meet all requirements as set out by the court. This can include jail time, community service hours, drug and alcohol counseling, and fines.
Here a few tips to avoid multiple trips to the Driver’s License Offices:
Yes. Once a license is reinstated after a DUI, you will become an alcohol-restricted driver. This means you may not drive with ANY alcohol in your system. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock devise on your vehicle.
An ignition interlock device or breath alcohol ignition interlock device is a type of breathalyzer which is installed to your car’s dashboard. Before the vehicle’s motor can be started, the driver first must blow into the device. If alcohol is detected in the driver’s breath, the device prevents the engine from being started.
If you meet the any of the conditions listed below, you are expected to know you are a restricted driver and may not receive notice from the court or the Driver’s License Division. Your physical driver’s license may not show that you are Ignition Interlock Restricted! Law enforcement has access to see the Ignition Interlock Restriction on the state computer and may issue a citation even if you do not show the restriction on your card.
You must have an ignition interlock if:
Maybe not. There is a very limited exception for driving an employer vehicle while you are doing work for that employer. You should consult an attorney before relying on this exception.
Although you are not currently licensed in the state of Utah, your privilege to drive in the state of Utah is affected by both of these laws and you will be required to obey these restrictions while driving anywhere in Utah.
It depends. There is no one answer to this question. Commercial driver licenses are different from non-commercial licenses and different rules apply. Generally the CDL disqualification for a first offense is one year and three years on a second or subsequent offense. Additionally, the interlock requirements and/or other probation requirements resulting from a DUI may prevent companies and employers from hiring you or continuing your employment. You should seek specific legal advice if you have a CDL and are accused of DUI.
It is important to note that if you are operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the arrest, the legal BAC is .04 and not .08. Additionally, if you are carrying hazardous materials at the time, the disqualification may be for three years, not one, and on any subsequent offenses it maybe for life!